News & Event

Society for Art of Imagination Exhibition Phantasten Museum Vienna

Society For Art Of Imagination
” Exhibition is to be held at The Museum of Fantastic Art in Vienna (Phantasten Museum
Wien), located inside the historic
Palais Palffy
at the center of the Austrian capital.

The Museum, founded in 2011 by the Curator Gerhard Habarta, is the first in the world to be dedicated solely to Fantastic and Visionary Art The show runs from April 14th to 28th, 2012. In this exhibition, the 58 exhibiting artists will be representing 22 countries. Many of the participating artists will be attending the exhibition opening at 11.00 am on the 14th of April. In the afternoon, following the opening, there will be the first International Conference on the future of Fantastic and Visionary Art. A beautiful book of all the artworks will be produced and listed for sale in the museum shop. The
Society for Art of Imagination
came into being in 1993 to promote Visionary and Fantastic art worldwide. The Society’s roots however begin much earlier. It was formerly known as the ‘Inscape Group’ begun in 1961. Brigid Marlin and Diana Hesketh, two of the founders of this original group are still very active members today. This is the oldest group of living artists in the field of Imaginative Art in the world today.


Isaac Abrams,Benny Anderson, Jane Andrews, Bienvenido Bones Banez jr., Jon Beinart, Camilla Brodersen, Claus Brusen, Gary Burczak, Vincent Castiglia, Annabella Claudia, Jorge Nazabal, Michel De Saint Ouen, Val Dyshlov, Kate Eggleston-Wirtz, Eike Erzmoneit, Sue Freeman, Michael Fuchs, France Garrido, Jurgen Geier, H.R. Geiger, Can Gokil, Alex Grey, Elisa Halvegard, Daniel Hannequand, Diana Hesketh, Martina Hoffmann, Peter Hutter, Slavko Krunic, Nick Krushner, David Lawton, Laurie Lipton, Pious Lumumba, Jack Lipowczan, Brigid Marlin, Jan Malechek, K.D. Matheson, Cathy Mccartney, Janelle Mckain, Lilia Mazurkevitch, Michael Parkes, Graszka Paulska, Vlaimir Perov-Gladky, Marnie Pitts, Anna Plavinskaya, Leo Plaw, James Porto, Jean Pronovost, Otto Rapp, Jack Ray, Bruce Rimmel, Stephen Snell, De Es Schwertberger, Olga Spiegel, Adela Stefanov, Amy Swartele, Shoji Tanaka, Miguel Tio, Marcus Usherwood, Robert Venosa, David Whitfield, Rene Zwaga

Society for Art of Imagination

April 14 – April 28, 2012